skip to main content
Centre for Health Economics and Policy Analysis


Nominate a promising researcher to give the 26th Labelle Lecture

06 Apr 2017

This October marks the 26th anniversary of the Labelle Lectureship Series,held annually to honour Roberta Labelle, one of CHEPA’s founding members. Her death in 1991 was unexpected and occurred when broad recognition for her research in health economics was just starting to emerge. CHEPA and the Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (CE&B) collaborated on establishing the Annual Labelle Lectureship Series in her memory.

The Labelle Lectureship Committee is seeking nominations for a promising junior health services researcher — a rising star in the field — to be this October’s 2017-18 Labelle Lecturer.

The Labelle Lecturer can be from any country (including Canada). The ideal candidate has the following characteristics:

1. Is early in his/her career development (assistant or early associate level), and shows tremendous promise based on early research accomplishments.

2. Is conducting research on a topic that challenges existing methods or accepted ideas in health research.

3. Is capable of delivering a high-quality lecture that will be of interest to a multi-disciplinary audience of health researchers and decision-makers.

4. Can spend one to two days at McMaster to: 

• present a one-hour lecture (followed by a reception) based on his/her research.
• meet with interested faculty, staff and students for a half-day.
• attend a Labelle dinner with individuals from within and outside McMaster University.

Please submit nominations to Emmanuel Guindon, Chair of the Labelle Lectureship Committee, at, and include the following information regarding the nominee: 

• Full name, current position, link to their faculty page, and, when possible, an updated CV.

• A brief paragraph describing the topic on which you believe the nominated individual could present the Labelle Lecture.

Recent Labelle Lecturers include Antoine Boivin, Katy Kozhimannil, Onil Bhattacharyya, David Stuckler, Irfan Dhalla and Michael Law. For a full list of past Labelle Lecturers, click here.

This Call for Nominations will close on May 15, 2017. For more information, contact Emmanuel 

Please send questions, comments or suggestions to the Webmaster ( ).
Please review our Copyright Disclaimer policy

Interactive Marketing | Cubicle Fugitive