skip to main content
Centre for Health Economics and Policy Analysis


Abelson receives the 2017 Egon Jonsson Award

22 Jun 2017

Julia Abelson was awarded the 2017 Egon Jonsson Award at a ceremony in Rome on June 21 in recognition of excellence in contributions made to the International Journal of Technology Assessment in Health Care.

The award, for the paper Public and Patient Involvement in Health Technology Assessment: A Framework For Action, also recognizes the contributions of co-authors and CHEPA faculty members Mita Giacomini and John N. Lavis, as well as François-Pierre Gauvin of the McMaster Health Forum and former CHEPA post-doctoral fellow Deirdre DeJean, and researchers and collaborators from other institutions across Ontario.

The paper describes the development and outputs of a comprehensive framework for involving the public and patients in the work of the Ontario Health Technology Advisory Committee (OHTAC) at Health Quality Ontario.

The Egon Jonsson Award is given annually by Health Technology Assessment international (HTAi) to the authors of an outstanding paper in the society's official journal published over the past year. A shortlist of ten articles was selected by the HTAi editorial team, with five committee members independently reviewing the ten articles against six criteria before selecting Abelson’s paper as the winner.

For more information about the award, and for links to the research and outputs from the stakeholder dialogue hosted by the McMaster Health Forum that informed the paper, click here.

Please send questions, comments or suggestions to the Webmaster ( ).
Please review our Copyright Disclaimer policy

Interactive Marketing | Cubicle Fugitive